Follow @Nomad4rum
Find us on facebook

Straddling the half way line

[ Facebook comments]

Ask our resident Ref(s) your questions here.

Moderators: octopus, Shiner, Gareth D, gonzo, The Tye

Opens in new browser window

Straddling the half way line

Postby Gareth D » Mon Jan 26 2009, 13:42

attacking player receives the ball whilst straddling the half way line (one leg in own half, other leg in opponents half)

Offiside or not ??

Ten minutes later, same pass to the same attacker, both legs in own half but upper body and one arm in opponents half,

Offside or not ??
User avatar
Gareth D
Site Admin
 
Posts: 752
Joined: Thu Aug 02 2007, 10:28

Opens in new browser window

Postby Thunderer » Mon Jan 26 2009, 18:06

Firstly, I assume none of the defending team are in their own half of the pitch. Secondly, the ball has been played by another attacking player from within their own half.
In the first part, as one foot is in the oppositon half of the field, when the ball was played him, then he is offside.
In the second part, if any part of his body, which can legally play the ball, ie chest or head, is in the opponents half, then again he is offside.
If however, it was just his arm, which cannot legally play the ball, then he would not be penalised.
Thunderer
 
Posts: 73
Joined: Sun Jan 29 2006, 20:04
Location: Referee

Opens in new browser window

Return to Ask the Ref!



Opens in new browser window