Follow @Nomad4rum
Find us on facebook

Bandwidth

[ Facebook comments]

Help or ideas concerning Nomad.

Moderators: octopus, Shiner, Gareth D, gonzo, The Tye

Opens in new browser window

Bandwidth

Postby Geoff » Wed Sep 28 2005, 08:45

Because this is on my other server I have a different type of account that allows me to allocate bandwidth. I'm monitoring the comings and goings and noticing this place gets busier than I realised. I'll keep an eye and if I need to allocate more bandwidth I will. So if you ever see an 'exceeded bandwidth' message, don't be worried, I shall allocate more when I'm about.

Geoff
User avatar
Geoff
Site Admin
 
Posts: 5247
Joined: Mon Sep 26 2005, 16:19
Location: Pound Hill
Non League Club: East Preston FC
Pro Club: Seagulls
Twitter Acct: @Nomad4rum

Opens in new browser window

Postby Jaydub » Wed Sep 28 2005, 13:41

Firstly, Geoff thanks for the board update, I'm sorry to hear that you have a ******* infesting your servers. I do hope they get what's coming, its a scourge we all face.

Don't take this the wrong way as I'm am merely offering a suggestion based on my experience of administering PHPBB, and I'm sure you are already aware of it. But after you are happy with the look and feel of the board, you will save a lot of bandwidth by cutting the CSS in 'overall.tpl' and putting in an external css file. PHPBB is a hefty piece of software and it does cut the bandwidth used dramatically on a busy board such as this.

Hope that helps.
www.ryefc.com

FACT: More people follow County football than for any other reason
User avatar
Jaydub
 
Posts: 1171
Joined: Tue Sep 27 2005, 23:27
Location: Rye United F.C.

Opens in new browser window

Postby Geoff » Wed Sep 28 2005, 18:55

Which overall file? There is a header and footer only. This is my third phpbb board and my last one was so heavily modded it could have fallen through a roof! I've been looking for hidden css code to get rid of underlining, it's baffling me a bit cos I've completely erased the underline command in the skins css file. And in the two 'overall' files there is no file/script only css. Any ideas?

I admit I'm too lazy to go through every script and file.
User avatar
Geoff
Site Admin
 
Posts: 5247
Joined: Mon Sep 26 2005, 16:19
Location: Pound Hill
Non League Club: East Preston FC
Pro Club: Seagulls
Twitter Acct: @Nomad4rum

Opens in new browser window

Postby Jaydub » Wed Sep 28 2005, 19:43

My bad!

Yup, it is the overall_header.tpl file that is the one you want.

Get the board looking how you want it first 'coz you won't be able to change it via the admin panel afterwards.

Its looking great so far btw.
www.ryefc.com

FACT: More people follow County football than for any other reason
User avatar
Jaydub
 
Posts: 1171
Joined: Tue Sep 27 2005, 23:27
Location: Rye United F.C.

Opens in new browser window

Postby Geoff » Wed Sep 28 2005, 19:45

Jaydub wrote:My bad!

Yup, it is the overall_header.tpl file that is the one you want.

Get the board looking how you want it first 'coz you won't be able to change it via the admin panel afterwards.

Its looking great so far btw.


I already dumped all the css from the overall_header... I have no idea where the links are getting their underline command in css though because I've dumped all that too! Ah well I'll find out eventually.

And within a minute of this post I found it... :D
User avatar
Geoff
Site Admin
 
Posts: 5247
Joined: Mon Sep 26 2005, 16:19
Location: Pound Hill
Non League Club: East Preston FC
Pro Club: Seagulls
Twitter Acct: @Nomad4rum

Opens in new browser window

Return to Website Topics



Opens in new browser window