refereeview wrote:The ball was out of play when contact was made so the referee cannot give a penalty. Why not compliment the referee on a good spot?
However, when he sees the replay he will be disappointed he did not issue a red card, the tackle was as malicious as they come
Of course he can...as he can also confer with his assistant lino'. No different from giving a penalty with the ball outside the box and the centre half grappling with the centre forward, taking him out with the ball nowhere near him, or a tackle that happens off the pitch and a player being booked or sent off.....a referee can change his decision, mind, refer for advice (earpiece now helping him out!!)...and keep a strong mind despite the pressure. I'm sure his bosses will back him with some ridiculous excuse of the laws of the game.....but as usual common sense will not prevail. No advantage, yellow card, penalty. Simples. (I'm no Man U fan either, just a fan of the beautiful game).